Sanjiv Sam Gambhir

  • Section Editors

    Department of Radiology, Stanford University School of Medicine, Stanford, USA

  • Dr. Sanjiv Sam Gambhir is the Virginia & D.K. Ludwig Professor of Cancer Research and the Chair of Radiology at Stanford University School of Medicine. He also heads up the Canary Center at Stanford for Cancer Early Detection and directs the Molecular Imaging Program at Stanford (MIPS). He received his MD/PhD from the UCLA Medical Scientist Training Program. He has over 425 publications in the field and over 40 patents pending or granted. His labs work has been featured on over 30 journal covers such as Science, JNM, Circulation, Cancer Cell, Nature Drug Discovery, and Science Translational Medicine. An internationally recognized researcher in molecular imaging with over $75 Million of NIH funding as the Principal Investigator, his lab has focused on interrogating fundamental molecular events in living subjects. He has developed and clinically translated several multimodality molecular imaging strategies including imaging of gene and cell therapies. He has also pioneered imaging areas such as Bioluminescence Resonance Energy Transfer (BRET), split-reporter technology, Raman imaging in vivo, PET reporter genes, and novel in vitro and in vivo strategies for the early detection of cancer. He serves on numerous academic advisory boards for Universities around the world and also served as a member of the Scientific Advisory Board of the National Cancer Institute from 2004-2012. He has also founded or co-founded several startup's in the diagnostics space. Among his many awards he is the recipient of the George Von Hevesy Prize and the Paul C. Aebersold Award for outstanding achievement in basic nuclear medicine science from the Society of Nuclear Medicine, Outstanding Researcher Award from the Radiological Society of Northern America in 2009, the Distinguished Clinical Scientist Award from the Doris Duke Charitable Foundation, the Holst Medal, the Tesla Medal, and the Hounsfield Medal from Imperial College, London. He was elected to the Institute of Medicine of the US National Academies in 2008.