• Scott LeMaire, MD

    Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, Texas, USA

Associate Editors

  • Suresh Agarwal, MD

    University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health

    Acute Care Surgery

  • Malcolm Brock, MD

    Johns Hopkins Hospital

    Thoracic Surgery

  • Alan Dardik, MD, PhD

    Yale School of Medicine

    Vascular Surgery

  • Anne Fischer, MD, PhD

    Oakland University William Beaumont School of Medicine

    Pediatric Surgery

  • Amir Ghaferi, MD, MS

    University of Michigan

    Gastrointestinal Surgery

  • Gregory Kennedy, MD, PhD

    University of Alabama-Birmingham

    Gastrointestinal Surgery

  • Timothy King, MD, PhD

    University of Alabama-Birmingham

    Plastic Surgery and Wound Healing

  • Nader Massarweh, MD, MPH

    Baylor College of Medicine

    Healthcare Delivery, Quality and Safety

  • Benedict Nwomeh, MD, MPH

    The Ohio State University

    Global Surgery

  • Timothy Pritts, MD, PhD

    University of Cincinnati


  • Craig Selzman, MD

    University of Utah

    Cardiac Surgery

  • Julie Ann Sosa, MD, MA

    Duke University

    Endocrine Surgery and Education

  • Kazuaki Takabe, MD, PhD

    Roswell Park Research Institute

    Surgical Oncology

  • Jose Trevino, MD

    University of Florida Health Science Center

    Gastrointestinal Surgery

  • Christoph Troppmann, MD

    University of California, Davis

    Abdominal Transplantation

Social Media Editor

  • Niraj J. Gusani, MD, MS, FACS

    Penn State Hershey Cancer Institute

Statistics Editor

  • Mazen S. Zenati, MD, MPH, PhD

    University of Pittsburgh

Association for Academic Surgery Publications Committee co-Chairs

  • Amir Ghaferi, MD, MS

    University of Michigan

  • Troy Markel, MD

    Indiana University School of Medicine

Society for Asian Academic Surgeons Publications Committee co-Chairs

  • Allan Tsung, MD

    University of Pittsburgh Medical Center (UPMC)

  • Ash Gosain, MD, PhD, FACS, FAAP

    University of Tennessee

Managing Editor

  • S. Newcombe

    Stellar Medical Publications

Editorial Board

  • Vatche Agopian, MD


  • Nita Ahuja, MD

    John Hopkins University

  • Daniel Anaya, MD

    H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center

  • Christopher Anderson, MD

    University of Mississippi Medical Center

  • Avo Artinyan, MD, MS

    Baylor College of Medicine

  • Rebecca Auer, MD, MSc

    University of Ottawa

  • Courtney Balentine, MD, MPH

    University of Alabama at Birmingham

  • Ankit Bharat, MBBS

    Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

  • Cherif Boutros, MD

    University of Maryland

  • Luke Brewster, MD, PhD, MA

    Emory University

  • John Byrn, MD

    University of Iowa

  • Ernest Camp, MD

    Medical University of South Carolina

  • Andrew Chen, MD

    University of Connecticut

  • Michael DiMaio, MD

    Baylor Scott & White Health

  • Thomas Ferry, MD

    Indiana University

  • Nicholas Garguilo, III, MD

    Brookdale University Hospital

  • Sean Glasgow, MD

    Washington University in St. Louis

  • Jason S. Gold, MD

    Brigham and Women's Hospital

  • Michael Goodman, MD

    University of Cincinnati

  • Philip Goodney, MD, MS

    Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center

  • David Gourlay, MD

    Medical College of Wisconsin, Children's Hospital of Wisconsin

  • Jayleen Grams, MD

    University of Alabama at Birmingham

  • Jacob Greenberg, MD

    University of Wisconsin, School of Medicine

  • Weiden Alan Guo, MD, PhD

    State University of New York at Buffalo

  • Imran Hassan, MD

    University of Iowa

  • Andrew Hill, MBChB, MD, EdD

    University of Auckland

  • Christine Hwang, MD

    University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

  • Ajay Jain, MD

    State University of New York (SUNY)

  • Jing Ji, MD

    University of Pittsburgh

  • Haytham Kaafarani, MA, MD, MPH

    Massachusetts General Hospital

  • Muneera Kapadia, MD

    University of Iowa

  • Steven Katz, MD

    Roger Williams Cancer Center

  • Sandeep Keswani, MD

    Baylor College of Medicine

  • Sanjay Krishnaswami, MD

    Oregon Health and Science University (OHSU)

  • Alexander Sasha Krupnick, MD

    University of Virginia

  • Peter Learn, MD

    The Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences

  • Michael Leitman, MD

    Mount Sinai Beth Israel

  • Ajay Maker, MD

    University of Illinois at Chicago

  • Amy Makley, MD

    University of Cincinnati

  • Colin Martin, MD

    University of Alabama at Birmingham

  • Matthew Martin, MD

    Madigan Army Medical Center

  • Haggi Mazeh, MD

    Hadassah-Hebrew University Medical Center

  • Brad McDowell, PhD

    University of Iowa

  • Stephan McKellar, MD, MSc

    The University of Utah

  • Kevin Mollen, MD

    Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh of UPMC

  • Chet Morrison, MD

    University of Pennsylvania/Lancaster General Health

  • Peter Muscarella, II, MD

    Montefiore Medical Center

  • Peter Nau, MD, MS

    University of Iowa

  • Giuseppe Nigri, MD, PhD

    Sapienza Università di Roma

  • Terence O'Keefe, MB, ChB, MSPH

    University of Arizona Health Sciences Center

  • Michael Shay O'Mara, MD, MBA

    Ohio State University

  • Roy Phitayakorn, MD, MHPE

    Massachusetts General Hospital

  • Randall Scheri, MD

    Duke University

  • David Schneider, MD, MS

    University of Wisconsin

  • Soman Sen, MD, MS

    University of California - Davis

  • Brian Shames, MD

    University of Connecticut

  • Jason Sicklick, MD

    University of California at San Diego (UCSD)

  • Eric Silberfein, MD

    Baylor College of Medicine

  • Rebecca Sippel, MD

    University of Wisconsin

  • Courtney Sommer, MD, MPH

    Duke University

  • William Stansfield, MD

    University of Toronto

  • Kristan Staudenmayer, MD

    Stanford University

  • Peter I. Tsai, MD, FACS, FCCP

    Yuma Regional Medical Center

  • Georgios Tsoulfas, MD, PhD

    Aristoteleion University of Thessaloniki

  • Christopher Wolfgang, MD, MS, PhD

    Johns Hopkins University

  • Heather Yeo, MD, MHS

    Weill Cornell Medical College

  • James Yoo, MD

    Tufts Medical Center

  • Ali Zarrinpar, MD, PhD


  • Amer Zureikat, MD

    University of Pittsburgh

Previous Editors

  • Charles Child, III, MD


  • George D. Zuidema, MD


  • David B. Skinner, MD

    1972 -1982

  • Christopher K. Zarins, MD


  • Bruce L. Gewertz, MD


  • Wiley Souba, MD, ScD, MBA


  • David McFadden, MD