针对编辑的Evise常见问题解答

爱思唯尔为什么创建EVISE?

因为EVISE为爱思唯尔所有,故而我们可以完全掌控其开发,从而使我们能够在投稿和同行评议方面推动创新与进步。我们所遵循的“敏捷”开发原则使我们能够对终端用户的反馈以及我们自身的监控结果做出回应。最后,EVISE将与爱思唯尔其他核心产品(包括Scopus、ScienceDirect和Mendeley)完全集成,从而可向用户提供更佳体验,使我们能够从科研到合作的整个过程为科研人员提供支持。

我的期刊可获得怎样的优势?

您可以在此了解关键特性

EVISE是否提供EES所提供的所有功能?

就肯定方面而言,只有当我们可以提供期刊运作所需的所有功能(也可能是等效功能)之后,才会安排您的期刊进行迁移。就否定方面而言,您会发现EVISE没有某个特定功能,或者EVISE以不同的方式处理需求。我们并未将EES的所有功能都复制到EVISE中,因为EES的诸多功能并未被大部分期刊所使用,或者随着时间的推移,该等功能已经过时/不适用。EVISE是一个全新设计的新系统,其结构和组织均不同于EES。EES是基于角色,但EVISE是基于任务。

用户如何得到支持,以及用户如何学习新系统?

所有用户均可使用EVISE在线自学工具。支持团队从第一批期刊迁移的那一刻起就开始运行,并通过我们的支持网站在迁移期间及之后提供支持服务。每次发布新版本后,在线学习欢迎页面右侧(即“工具”下方的“观看编辑演示视频”)就会提供新推出功能的演示视频。

针对编辑:

  • 对于从EES迁移到EVISE的期刊或者在EVISE上创建的新期刊,将要求主编或者最合适的编辑发言人参加期刊“创办会议”。在会议期间,他们将有机会与出版商、期刊经理以及经验丰富的培训师共同探讨,并就具体配置和设置问题做出决定。
  • 继该创办会议后,所有编辑将在期刊上线之前受邀参加培训会议,时间由编辑自行决定。
  • 届时将向所有主要责任编辑提供测试网站,以使他们能够在期刊上线前熟悉该系统。
  • 如果编辑所工作的期刊已迁移至EVISE,则将向该等编辑提供完整的系统培训。

如要报名参加EVISE编辑培训,请点击此处,选择培训首选语言以及首选时间段。培训师稍后将与您联系,提供详细信息。

我的期刊将在什么时候迁移?

期刊将在2017年/2018年期间逐个从EES迁移至EVISE。迁移时间安排将由期刊出版商与编辑协商确定,并将在迁移开始之前做好充分沟通。迁移是由部署主管(DL)在与期刊经理、出版商和EVISE专门培训师紧密协作的基础上进行管理,而该等涉及人员将共同协作,与您一起确保您的期刊实现最优配置,从而让您适应新系统,并且顺利完成迁移过程。

在启用EVISE网站之后,新投稿将会怎样处理?

新的常规投稿将会被送至EVISE。在可能的情况下,EVISE将配置全新特刊,但是EES中现有特刊的新投稿应当继续提交至EES,并且仍由EES进行处理。

在启用EVISE网站之后,EES中剩余的稿件将会怎样处理?

在期刊的EVISE网站上线后,EES和EVISE需要一同使用一段时间,直至EES中的投稿均完成为止。我们了解对编辑来说在两个编辑系统上工作所带来的挑战,因此我们将尽可能减少重叠。

EES网站将在什么时候关闭?

一旦期刊在EES中的最后一个有效投稿完成后,EES网站即会关闭。

EES数据将会怎样处理?

历史记录将按照我们的归档政策予以维护,并应要求提供。

我的期刊审稿人数据库会被迁移到EVISE吗?

当期刊开始迁移至EVISE时,就会进行期刊审稿人记录初始转移。这包括审稿人统计数据,以及在审稿人搜索期间可被搜索的个人关键词和个人分类。请注意,审稿历史(经评审的稿件和审稿人建议)将不会被转移到EVISE中。编辑可照常邀请审稿人。当EES停止使用后,将进行最终转移,以确保EES中所有新增审稿人都被转移到EVISE中。

所有期刊都会转移到EVISE吗?

是的,所有期刊都会转移到EVISE。一旦所有期刊均完成迁移,EES即会被停止使用。

什么时候会就期刊迁移事宜与我取得联系?

爱思唯尔将在迁移前联系所有期刊的编辑,并事先充分提供所有迁移相关详情。如果您届时有任何问题,应联系您的出版商。

Evise FAQs for Editors

Why is Elsevier building EVISE?

Because EVISE is Elsevier-owned, we are in full control of its development, which allows us to drive innovation and progress in submission and peer review. The “Agile” development principles we use enable us to respond to feedback from end users and our own monitoring. Finally, EVISE will be  fully integrated with other key Elsevier products, including Scopus, ScienceDirect and Mendeley, offering users a much better experience , and enabling us to support researchers from research though to collaboration.

What are the benefits for my journal?

You can read about the key features here.

Does EVISE offer all functionality offered in EES?

Yes and no. Yes, in that your journal will not be scheduled for migration until we can offer all the functionality (which may be equivalent functionality) that is required for it to operate. No, in that you may find that a particular feature is not in EVISE, or that EVISE handles the need differently. We have not copied over all functionality from EES to EVISE as many EES features were not used by most journals, or with time have become out-of-date / non-optimal.  EVISE is a new system that has been designed from scratch and it is structured and organized differently from EES; while EES was role-based, EVISE is task-based.

How will users be supported, and how can users learn the new system?

For all users, the EVISE self-guided e-learning tool is available. The support organization has been up and running from the moment the first journals migrated, and is available both during and after migration via our support website. With each release, a demo on the newly introduced functionality is made available in the right hand side of the e-learning welcome page, under Tools > Watch Editor Demo Video.

For editors:

  • For journals migrating from EES to EVISE, or new journals created on EVISE, the main editor, or the most appropriate editor spokesperson, will be asked to attend a journal “set-up session”. During this session,  they will have the opportunity to discuss and decide upon detailed configurations and settings, together with the publisher and journal manager, and an experienced trainer.
  • Following that set-up session, all editors will be invited to attend a training session before go-live, at a timing of their choice.
  • A test site will be available for all key handling editors to become familiar with the system before go-live.
  • For editors joining journals which have already migrated to EVISE, there will be full system training available.

To sign up for EVISE Editor Training, please click here, select the preferred language for training and then your preferred time slot. A trainer will then be in contact with further details.

When will the migration take place for my journal?

Journals will be migrated from EES to EVISE on a journal-by-journal basis during 2017/2018. The migration schedule will be determined by journal publishers in consultation with editors and will be communicated well in advance of migration starting. The migration is managed by a deployment lead (DL) working in close collaboration with your regular journal manager, publisher, and a dedicated EVISE trainer, who will work together to ensure  - together with you - that your journal is configured optimally, that you are comfortable in the new system, and that the transition proceeds smoothly.

Once the EVISE site opens, what will happen to new submissions?

New regular submissions will be directed to EVISE. New Special Issues will be configured in EVISE wherever possible, but new submissions to existing Special Issues in EES should continue to be submitted to EES and handled there.

Once the EVISE site opens, what will happen to manuscripts remaining in EES?

Both EES and EVISE will need to be used for a time after a journal’s EVISE site goes live, while submissions in EES are completed. However, understanding the challenge working in two editorial systems creates for editors, we will try to minimize the overlap as much as possible.

When will the EES site be closed?

Once the last active submission in EES for a journal is complete, the EES site will be closed.

What will happen to the data from EES?

Historical records will be maintained in accordance with our archiving policy and will be available upon request.

Will my journal's reviewer database be migrated to EVISE?

An initial transfer of a journal's reviewer records will take place when the migration to EVISE begins. This includes reviewers' statistics, and personal keywords and personal classifications that can be searched during reviewer search. Note that the review history (the manuscripts reviewed and recommendations given by a reviewer) will not be transferred to EVISE. Editors will be able to invite reviewers as normal. When the EES site is discontinued, a final transfer will take place to ensure any newly added reviewers in EES are moved to EVISE.

Will all journals move to EVISE?

Yes, all journals will be moved to EVISE. EES will be decommissioned once all journals have migrated.

When will I be contacted regarding migration for my journal?

Elsevier will contact individual editors of all journals prior to migration and provide all migration-related details well in advance. If you have any questions in the meantime, you should contact your publisher.