Video: Elsevier Foundation honors women in chemistry — seeks nominations for physics and math

Meet this year’s winners, and nominate early-career researchers for the 2015 awards

[divider] In 2014, five talented chemistry researchers representing five regions of the developing world were recognized for their work at the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Annual Meeting in Chicago. The Elsevier Foundation Awards for Women Scientists in the Developing World are granted annually by The Elsevier Foundation, the Organization for Women in Science for the Developing World (OWSD) and The World Academy of Sciences for the advancement of science in developing countries (TWAS) with the aim of building scientific strength and advancing scientific knowledge in developing countries.

The program rotates annually between disciplines (physics/math, medical/life sciences, and chemistry)

The 2014 winners had impressive accomplishments in applying the chemistry of nature to pharmaceutical science. They are Dr. Eqbal Mohammed Abdu Dauqan (Biochemistry - Yemen), Dr. Simone Ann Marie Badal McCreath (Biochemistry - Jamaica), Dr. Taiwo Olayemi Elufioye (Pharmacology - Nigeria), Dr. Leni Ritmaleni (Medicinal Chemistry - Indonesia) and Dr. Nilufar Mamadalieva (Biochemistry - Uzbekistan).

Learn more about them in this video.

Call for nominations for 2015 physics and math awards – deadline is October 17

The upcoming awards are for physics and mathematics. Nominees should be women in physics and mathematics early in their careers (within 10 years of receiving a PhD) from one of the 81 scientifically lagging countries as defined by TWAS. Nominations are being accepted through October 17 and will be reviewed by a committee of eminent scientists representing the five regions in the discipline selected, including members of TWAS and OWSD, and chaired by OWSD President Dr. Fang Xin of China.

Charon Duermeijer, PhDThe ceremony will be held at the AAAS Annual Meeting in San Jose, California. Winners will be granted a cash prize of $5,000 and a year's access to Elsevier's ScienceDirect and   Scopus , the world's largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. In addition, this year the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP), based in Trieste, Italy, is offering each of the winners free attendance and accommodations at one of ICTP's workshops and conferences.

Dr. Charon Duermeijer (@duermeijer), Publishing Director of Elsevier Physics Journals, said the journal teams strongly support this initiative:

I would like to personally ask all physicists and mathematicians to come forward with suggestions. This award will ensure that these scientists will be credited for their contributions, and it will raise their profile in the scientific community, making it easier for them to make connections with all of you. Even a nomination would make a real difference in the lives of these individuals.


Learn more and nominate a scientist


Elsevier Connect Contributor

Domiziana FrancesconDomiziana Francescon is a Corporate Responsibility intern for the Elsevier Foundation. She is finishing a master's degree in Book and Digital Media Studies at Leiden University in the Netherlands.

comments powered by Disqus

Related Stories