This book is the second volume of autobiographical essays by distinguished senior neuroscientists; it is part of the first collection of neuroscience writing that is primarily autobiographical. As neuroscience is a young discipline, the contributors to this volume are truly pioneers of scientific research on the brain and spinal cord. This collection of fascinating essays should inform and inspire students and working scientists alike. The general reader interested in science may also find the essays absorbing, as they are essentially human stories about commitment and the pursuit of knowledge. The contributors included in this volume are: Lloyd M. Beidler, Arvid Carlsson, Donald R. Griffin, Roger Guillemin, Ray Guillery, Masao Ito. Martin G. Larrabee, Jerome Lettvin, Paul D. MacLean, Brenda Milner, Karl H. Pribram, Eugene Roberts and Gunther Stent.

Key Features

@introbul:Key Features @bul:* Second volume in a collection of neuroscience writing that is primarily autobiographical * Contributors are senior neuroscientists who are pioneers in the field


AUDIENCE: Students and researchers in neuroscience and neurology.

Table of Contents

Preface to Volume 1. Preface to Volume 2. Lloyd M. Beidler. Arvid Carlsson. Donald R. Griffin. Roger Guillemin. Ray Guillery. Masao Ito. Martin G. Larrabee. Jerome Lettvin. Paul D. MacLean. Brenda Milner. Karl H. Pribram. Eugene Roberts. Gunther Stent. Index of Names.


No. of pages:
© 1999
Academic Press
Print ISBN:
Electronic ISBN: