Topographic mapping plays a basic and important role within the extensive field of cartography. In recent years, this type of mapping has become somewhat neglected and available literature is normally restricted to details concerning the programmes of individual countries often presented in the form of monographs. Topographic maps are essential tools for use in development projects, resource exploitation, the planning of construction, infrastructure and recreation. They also give detailed illustration of the relative degrees of development of areas within a landscape and are thus unique in demonstrating the cultural status of a country. This book is the second of three volumes and gives details and examples of topographic maps from Central and South America and Africa. The information supplied for each country consists of a text, including a brief history of the development of topographic mapping, geodetic data, map scales and series, as well as extracts of maps and index sheets illustrating the present status of map coverage within that country. There is currently no other work employing the approach adopted in assembling this inventory. This work is a comprehensive and important reference and source book for information in the field of topographic mapping.


For cartographers, geologists and those involved in planning.

Table of Contents

South America. Argentina. Bolivia. Brazil. Chile. Colombia. Ecuador. Falkland Island (UK). French Guiana. Guyana. Paraguay. Peru. Suriname. Uruguay. Venezuela. Central America. Anguilla (UK). Antigua and Barbuda. Bahamas. Barbados. Belize. Bermuda (UK). British Virgin Island. Cayman Island (UK). Costa Rica. Cuba. Dominica. Dominican Republic. El Salvador. Grenada. Guadeloupe (France). Guatemala. Haiti. Honduras. Jamaica. Martinique (France). Mexico. Montserrat (UK). Netherlands Antilles. Nicaragua. Panama. Puerto Rico (USA). Saint Kitts and Nevis. Saint Lucia. Saint Vincent and the Grenadines. Trinidad and Tobago. Turks and Caicos Island (UK). United States Virgin Islands. Africa. Algeria. Angola. Benin. Botswana. Burkina Faso. Burundi. Cameroon. Cape Verde. Central African Republic. Chad. Comoros. Congo. Côte d'Ivoire. Djibouti. Egypt. Equatorial Guinea. Ethiopia. Gabon. The Gambia. Ghana. Guinea. Guinea-Bissau. Kenya. Lesotho. Liberia. Libyan Arab Jamahiriya. Madagascar. Malawi. Mali. Mauritania. Mauritius. Mayotte (France). Morocco. Mozambique. Namibia. Niger. Nigeria. Réunion (France) Rwanda. Saint Helena (UK), Ascension Island (UK), Tristan da Cunha (UK). Sao Tome and Principe. Senegal. Seychelles. Sierra Leone. Somalia. South Africa. Sudan. Swaziland. Tanzania. Togo. Tunisia. Uganda. Zaire. Zambia. Zimbabwe. Appendix.


© 1991
eBook ISBN:
Print ISBN:

About the editor