Global Award

Introducing the award

The Prize, established in 2009 in honor of the founder of Nuclear Instruments and Methods A, Kai Siegbahn, aims to recognize and encourage outstanding experimental achievement in synchrotron radiation research with a significant component of instrument development. Particular preference will be given to the development of synchrotron radiation spectroscopies.

nuclear instruments and methods

About Kai Siegbahn

Kai Siegbahn

Kai Siegbahn had a strong and lasting commitment to advancing synchrotron radiation science. NIM-A encourages the publication of high quality manuscripts in the areas of sources and instruments for synchrotron radiation research. The Journal of Electron Spectroscopy and Related Phenomena publishes experimental, theoretical and applied work in the field of electron spectroscopy and electronic structure, involving techniques which use high energy photons (>10 eV) or electrons as probes or detected particles in the investigation.


Winner Announcement 2012: Kai Siegbahn prize awarded to Claudio Masciovecchio

We are pleased to announce that the Kai Siegbahn prize was awarded for the second time, this time to Claudio Masciovecchio from the Elettra Synchrotron Light Laboratory in Italy. The award ceremony took place at the University of Uppsala on 10 September 2012.

Claudio Masciovecchio received the prize for combining the development of new instrumental facilities based on light scattering concepts, both on the ELETTRA storage ring and at FERMI@Elettra free electron laser, reporting results of significant value in the field of dynamics of disordered matter, bio-protector materials, and nanostructured materials.

Previous winners

Eli Rotenburg, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA
Eli Rotenberg, from the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory in the USA received the prize for the creation of the ARPES "Electronic Structure Factory" end-station at the Advanced Light Source and its artful application to the understanding of quantum electronic properties of nano-phase and reduced dimensionality materials


The prize shall ordinarily be awarded to one person but may be shared when all recipients have contributed to the same accomplishment.

Application Process

Nominations are open to scientists of all nationalities without regard to the geographical site at which the work was performed. The prize shall ordinarily be awarded to one person but may be shared when all recipients have contributed to the same accomplishment. The prize recipient should be 45 years old or younger at time of selection. Nominations are active for two prize cycles.

Award and Ceremony

The Prize will be awarded every three years and carries a EUR 3000 prize plus a travel allowance to the meeting at which the prize is awarded and a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient.