数据引用

尚未被发现和承认的数据必须要获得广泛获取,并且以一致、清晰的方式在科学文献中引用。为实现这一目标,爱思唯尔已对其期刊实施《数据引用原则联合声明》。这将促使研究数据成为学术记录不可或缺的组成部分,使其得到妥善保存并易于获取,同时确保研究人员得到应有的荣誉。

数据引用的工作原理

数据引用包含在文章的标准参考文献列表中,与文章引用有着平等的地位。这也意味着读者将会享有与文章引用相同的好处,包括一键链接到被参引材料,以及快速跳转到文章中首次进行引用的位置。

爱思唯尔在我们的所有期刊中实施了FORCE 11数据引用原则。这意味着,我们鼓励作者将数据引用列入他们的参考文献列表,而且我们对制作和出版系统也做了相应的改动,以适应这种引用形式。

与文章、图书和网络参考文献一样,数据集应在稿件中的相关位置引用。另外,数据参考文献还应添加到文章的参考文献列表中。数据参考文献应包含能够提供数据集信息的相关元素,并且可以按与其它参考文献相同的格式排版。如果您在参考文献之前添加[数据集],应确保这样操作可以被系统辨认。欲了解更多信息,请查看作者指南中的参考文献部分。

一直以来,爱思唯尔都积极参与制定技术解决方案并创建指南,以在爱思唯尔的内部和外部实施引用原则。我们鼓励您访问FORCE 11网站来支持这些原则。


《数据引用原则联合声明》

FORCE11数据引用原则于2014年发布,旨在使研究数据成为学术记录不可或缺的组成部分。这些原则认为:确保作者能够通过研究数据的适当引用获得分享信誉,是提高研究数据可用性的关键驱动因素。

爱思唯尔参与起草了这些原则,并连同众多其他出版商、数据存储机构和研究机构一起批准将其作为行业标准。数据引用原则概述如下:

  1. 重要性:数据应被视为合法、可引用的研究产物。在学术记录中,应当承认数据引用与其他研究成果(如出版物)引用有同等的重要性。
  2. 署名和归属:数据引用应便于向所有数据贡献人提供学术署名以及规范和法定的归属,同时认识到单种归属方式或机制可能并不适用于所有数据。
  3. 证据:在学术文献中,无论在何种情况下,只要有一项主张依赖于数据,则均应引用相应数据。
  4. 唯一识别:数据引用应包括一种可被机器执行、全球唯一且被广泛使用的持久识别方法。
  5. 访问:数据引用不仅应方便访问数据本身,也要便于人类和机器合理使用参考数据而生成的相应元数据、文件、代码和其它材料。
  6. 持续性:即使要在所描述数据的使用期限之外,唯一的识别符以及描述数据及其处理的元数据应具有持续性。
  7. 特异性和可核实性:数据引用应方便识别、访问和核实支持某项主张的具体数据。引用内容或引用元数据应包括有关出处和稳定性方面的充分信息,以便确认具体的时间片、版本及/或之后检索的片段数据与最初的引用是否相同。
  8. 互通性和灵活性:数据引用方法应足够灵活,以满足各个群体的固有方法。但差异也不可过大,不能损害数据引用在各个群体之间的互通性。

Data citation

For data to be discovered and acknowledged it must be widely accessible and cited in a consistent and clear manner in the scientific literature. To achieve this, Elsevier has implemented the Joint Declaration of Data Citation Principles for its journals. This will help make research data become an integral part of the scholarly record, properly preserved and easily accessible, while ensuring that researchers get credit for their work.

How data citation works

The data citation is included in the standard References list of an article, and treated on equal footing with article citations. That also means readers will enjoy the same benefits as for article citations, including one-click deep links to the referenced material and the ability to quickly jump to the point in the article where this work was first cited.

Elsevier has implemented the FORCE 11 data citation principles in all of our journals. This means that authors are encouraged to include data citations as part of their reference list and that we have altered our production and publication systems to process this form of citation.

As with article, book, and web references, datasets should be cited at the relevant place in the manuscript. In addition, a reference should be added to the reference list of the article. The reference should contain the relevant elements to provide information about a dataset and can be formatted in the same way as other references. If you add [dataset] before the reference, you’ll ensure that our systems will recognize it as such. For more information, please check the reference section in the Guide for Authors.

For example, the diagram below shows a reference list from the article "A new approach to predicting environmental transfer of radionuclides to wildlife: A demonstration for freshwater fish and caesium," published in Science of the Total Environment in 2013. The first reference uses a proper data citation, including the key bibliographical information for the data set and using a data DOI as unique, persistent identifier.

Elsevier remains involved in developing technical solutions and creating guidelines to implement the citation principles, both within Elsevier and beyond. We encourage you to endorse these principles by visiting the FORCE 11 website.

Joint Declaration of Data Citation Principles

The FORCE11 data citation principles were launched in 2014 with the aim to make research data an integral part of the scholarly record. The principles recognized that a critical driver for increasing the availability of research data was to ensure authors receive credit for sharing through proper citation of research data. 

Elsevier was involved in drafting these principles and, along with many other publishers, data repositories and research institutions, endorsed them as an industry standard. The data citation principles are outlined below:

  1. Importance: Data should be considered legitimate, citable products of research. Data citations should be accorded the same importance in the scholarly record as citations of other research objects, such as publications.
  2. Credit and Attribution: Data citations should facilitate giving scholarly credit and normative and legal attribution to all contributors to the data, recognizing that a single style or mechanism of attribution may not be applicable to all data.
  3. Evidence: In scholarly literature, whenever and wherever a claim relies upon data, the corresponding data should be cited.
  4. Unique Identification: A data citation should include a persistent method for identification that is machine actionable, globally unique, and widely used by a community.
  5. Access: Data citations should facilitate access to the data themselves and to such associated metadata, documentation, code, and other materials, as are necessary for both humans and machines to make informed use of the referenced data.
  6. Persistence: Unique identifiers, and metadata describing the data, and its disposition, should persist – even beyond the lifespan of the data they describe.
  7. Specificity and Verifiability: Data citations should facilitate identification of, access to, and verification of the specific data that support a claim. Citations or citation metadata should include information about provenance and fixity sufficient to facilitate verifying that the specific timeslice, version and/or granular portion of data retrieved subsequently is the same as was originally cited.
  8. Interoperability and flexibility: Data citation methods should be sufficiently flexible to accommodate the variant practices among communities, but should not differ so much that they compromise interoperability of data citation practices across communities.