The Inclusion & Diversity Advisory Board

The mission of the board is to:

  • Drive I&D initiatives that lead to positive change in gender balance in academic research
  • Help set standards and best practices that drive unbiased, robust decisions incorporating I&D principles in research
  • Influence and improve the gender balance in research funding, peer review, publication and career progression


Kumsal Bayazit


Kumsal Bayazit was appointed Chief Executive Officer of Elsevier in February 2019. She has held multiple positions with RELX since 2004, most recently as Regional President Europe, Middle East and Africa at Reed Exhibitions. Before joining Reed Exhibitions in 2016, Kumsal was RELX Chief Strategy Officer, responsible for driving strategic initiatives, technology strategy and portfolio management. Prior to that she served in several operational and strategic roles with LexisNexis.

View full bio

Richard Horton

The Lancet, Elsevier

Richard Horton is Editor-in-Chief of The Lancet. He was born in London and is half Norwegian. He qualified in physiology and medicine with honours from the University of Birmingham in 1986. He joined The Lancet in 1990, moving to New York as North American Editor in 1993. Richard was the first President of the World Association of Medical Editors and he is a Past-President of the US Council of Science Editors. He is an honorary professor at the London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine, University College London, and the University of Oslo.

View full bio

Board Members

Gary L. Darmstadt

Stanford University

Gary L. Darmstadt, MD, MS, is Associate Dean for Maternal and Child Health, and Professor of Neonatal and Developmental Medicine in the Department of Pediatrics at the Stanford University School of Medicine. From 2015-2019 he chaired the Steering Committee of The Lancet Series on Gender Equality, Norms and Health. Previously Dr. Darmstadt was Senior Fellow in the Global Development Program at the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation (BMGF), where he led cross-foundation initiatives on Women, Girls and Gender.

View full bio

Sarah Hawkes

University College London

Sarah Hawkes is the Director of the Centre for Gender and Global Health, and a medical doctor with a degree in sociology and a PhD in epidemiology. She is Professor of Global Public Health at University College London where she leads a research theme analysing the use of evidence in policy processes, particularly in relation to gender and health, and sexual health. Sarah is co-founder and co-Director of Global Health 50/50, an independent initiative that works to advance action and accountability for gender equality in global health.

View full bio

Helena Legido-Quigley

National University of Singapore

Helena Legido-Quigley is an Associate Professor at the Saw Swee Hock School of Public Health and has a parallel position with the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine. She is also an Associate Fellow at Chatham House, the Royal Institute of International Affairs.

View full bio

Elizabeth Pollitzer, PhD


Dr. Elizabeth Pollitzer holds PhD in Information Science from London University. Her original science training was in Biophysics at Kings College University of London, where she was introduced to social responsibility of science through a course set up by Maurice Wilkins, which influenced her subsequent career plans.

View full bio

Londa Schiebinger, PhD

Stanford University

Dr. Londa Schiebinger is the John L. Hinds Professor of History of Science in the History Department at Stanford University and Director of the EU/US Gendered Innovations in Science, Health & Medicine, Engineering, and Environment Project. From 2004-2010, Schiebinger served as the Director of Stanford's Clayman Institute for Gender Research. She is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

View full bio

Martina Schraudner, PhD

Technical University of Berlin & Fraunhofer Center for Responsible Research and Innovation

Prof Dr Martina Schraudner is a Professor of Gender and Diversity in Technology and Product Development at the Technical University of Berlin and head of Fraunhofer Center for Responsible Research and Innovation. In addition, Martina Schraudner is a Board Member of Acatech, Head of the Department of Gender and Diversity in Organizations at Technical University Berlin, and Director of Responsible Research and Innovation Unit at Fraunhofer Gesellschaft.

View full bio

Miyoko O. Watanabe, PhD

Japan Science and Technology Agency

Dr. Miyoko O. Watanabe serves at Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST) as Executive Director and Director of Office for Diversity and Inclusiveness. She has a long experience of research in semiconductor physics at Toshiba R&D Center in Japan, and she conducted her physics research as a Postdoctoral Fellow at Dalhousie University, Canada, from 1986 to 1988 and as a Visiting Researcher at Nanoscale Physics Research Laboratory at the University of Birmingham, U.K., in 1997. Returning to Toshiba, she served there at different positions, including that of Executive Quality Leader at Innovation Division in the headquarters. She has been working at JST since 2013.

View full bio

Tom Welton, OBE, CChem, FRSC, FCGI

Imperial College London

Prof. Tom Welton is currently the President-Elect of the Royal Society of Chemistry and will take up the full role in June 2020. He joined Imperial in 1993 and served as Head of the Department of Chemistry from 2007 to 2014, before becoming Dean of the Faculty of Natural Sciences until December 2019. He is a Fellow and a member of the Council of the Royal Society of Chemistry. He will continue to be a member of the Imperial community while taking up his new position as RSC president.

View full bio

Nieng Yan

Princeton University

Dr. Nieng Yan received her BS degree from the Department of Biological Sciences & Biotechnology, Tsinghua University, Beijing, China, in 2000. She then pursued her PhD in the Department of Molecular Biology at Princeton University under the supervision of Prof. Yigong Shi between 2000 and 2004. She was the regional winner of the Young Scientist Award (North America) co-sponsored by Science/AAAS and GE Healthcare in 2005 for her thesis on the structural and mechanistic study of programmed cell death.

View full bio