Tetrahedron Young Investigator Awards 2013 winners: Professor Ashraf Brik and Professor Melanie Sanford


Prof. Ashraf Brik

Prof_BrikProf. Ashraf Brik
University of Ben-Gurion of the Negev, Israel

Winner of the Tetrahedron Young Investigator Awards for Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry

Prof. Melanie Sanford

Prof_SanfordProf. Melanie Sanford
University of Michigan, USA
Winner of the Tetrahedron Young Investigator Awards for Organic Synthesis


Professors Ashraf Brik and Melanie Sanford will each give a plenary lecture at the 14th Tetrahedron Symposium, Vienna, Austria, where they will be formally presented with their award. Each recipient also receives a certificate and an award of US $1,000. Additionally, a Symposium-in-Print in one of the journals will be published in each of their honour. Similar to the Tetrahedron Prize for Creativity in Organic Chemistry, which these awards complement, the Tetrahedron Young Investigator Awards are also made on an annual basis.

Each award will have a separate voting committee, with the Editors of Tetrahedron, Tetrahedron Letters, and Tetrahedron: Asymmetry voting on the Organic Synthesis Award, and the Editors of Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry, and Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry Letters, voting on the Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry Award. Members of the voting committees may not be candidates, nor make nominations.

For further information on the Tetrahedron Young Investigator Awards, please contact:
Diddel Francissen
Executive Publisher, Elsevier
Email: d.francissen@elsevier.com


The Tetrahedron Young Investigator Awards were created in 2005 by the Executive Board of Editors and the Publisher of Tetrahedron Publications. These two new awards will be presented to two individuals who have exhibited "exceptional creativity and dedication" in the fields of Organic Synthesis and of Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry respectively.

The winners each receive US $1,000, a certificate, and an invitation to present a plenary lecture during the annual Tetrahedron Symposium. In 2013 the plenary lectures will be presented during the 14th Tetrahedron Symposium in Vienna, Austria, 25-28 June 2013. Furthermore, two Symposium-in-Print will be compiled in their honour. As with the Tetrahedron Prize for Creativity in Organic Chemistry, which these awards complement, the awards are made on an annual basis.

Previous Awardees:

  • 2005: David MacMillan, Organic Synthesis; Laura Kiessling, Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry
  • 2006: Erick Carreira, Organic Synthesis; Jon Ellman, Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry
  • 2007: John Hartwig, Organic Synthesis; Wilfred van der Donk, Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry
  • 2008: Justin du Bois, Organic Synthesis; Benjamin Cravatt, Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry
  • 2009: Michael Krische, Organic Synthesis; Carlos Barbas, Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry
  • 2010: Brian Stoltz, Organic Synthesis; Peter Seeberger, Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry
  • 2011: F. Dean Toste, Organic Synthesis; Carolyn R. Bertozzi, Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry
  • 2012: Zhang-Jie Shi, Organic Synthesis; B.G. Davis, Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry