Tetrahedron Young Investigator Award


Dr. Maja Köhn

Dr. Maja KöhnDr. Maja Köhn,
EMBL Heidelberg, Germany

Winner of the Tetrahedron Young Investigator Awards for Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry

Dr. Yoshiaki Nakao

Dr. Yoshiaki NakaoDr. Yoshiaki Nakao,
Kyoto University Katsura,
Winner of the Tetrahedron Young Investigator Awards for Organic Synthesis

Dr. Maja Köhn and Dr. Yoshiaki Nakao will each give a plenary lecture at the 16th Tetrahedron Symposium, Berlin, Germany, where they will be formally presented with their award. Each recipient also receives a certificate and an award of US $1,000. Additionally, a Symposium-in-Print in one of the journals will be published in each of their honour. Similar to the Tetrahedron Prize for Creativity in Organic Chemistry & BioMedicinal Chemistry, which these awards complement, the Tetrahedron Young Investigator Awards are also made on an annual basis.

Nominations for the 2016 Young Investigators Award are now closed

Each award will have a separate voting committee, with the Editors of Tetrahedron, Tetrahedron Letters, and Tetrahedron: Asymmetry voting on the Organic Synthesis Award, and the Editors of Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry, and Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry Letters, voting on the Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry Award. Members of the voting committees may not be candidates, nor make nominations.

For further information on the Tetrahedron Young Investigator Awards, please contact:
Barbara Plasmans, b.plasmans@elsevier.com


The Tetrahedron Young Investigator Awards were created in 2005 by the Executive Board of Editors and the Publisher of Tetrahedron Publications. These two new awards will be presented to two individuals who have exhibited "exceptional creativity and dedication" in the fields of Organic Synthesis and of Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry respectively.

The winners each receive US $1,000, a certificate, and an invitation to present a plenary lecture during the annual Tetrahedron Symposium. In 2015 the plenary lectures will be presented during the 16th Tetrahedron Symposium in Berlin, Germnay, 16-19 June 2015 and 16th Tetrahedron Symposium – Asia [location to be determined]. Furthermore, two Symposium-in-Print will be compiled in their honour. As with the Tetrahedron Prize for Creativity in Organic Chemistry, which these awards complement, the awards are made on an annual basis.

Previous Awardees:

  • 2005: David MacMillan, Organic Synthesis; Laura Kiessling, Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry
  • 2006: Erick Carreira, Organic Synthesis; Jon Ellman, Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry
  • 2007: John Hartwig, Organic Synthesis; Wilfred van der Donk, Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry
  • 2008: Justin du Bois, Organic Synthesis; Benjamin Cravatt, Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry
  • 2009: Michael Krische, Organic Synthesis; Carlos Barbas, Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry
  • 2010: Brian Stoltz, Organic Synthesis; Peter Seeberger, Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry
  • 2011: F. Dean Toste, Organic Synthesis; Carolyn R. Bertozzi, Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry
  • 2012: Zhang-Jie Shi, Organic Synthesis; B.G. Davis, Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry
  • 2013: Melanie Sanford, Organic Synthesis; Ashraf Brik, Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry
  • 2014: Sarah E. Reisman, Organic Synthesis; Rudi Fasan, Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry