Tetrahedron chair in organic synthesis


Tetrahedron chair


furstner_rsThe Tetrahedron Chair in Organic Synthesis 2004 was awarded to Professor Alois Fürstner of the Max-Planck-Institut für Kohlenforschung, Mülheim/Ruhr, Germany, at the Tenth Belgian Organic Synthesis Symposium (BOSS-X) in Louvain-la-NEUVE, Belgium, on Monday 12th July 2004.

As is the tradition of the Tetrahedron Chair, the recipient presents a full-day lecture course on a specific topic in organic synthesis, during which both their own research, and the results of other scientists, are reviewed.

Professor Fürstner enthralled the audience throughout four 1-hour lectures over the course of the day, with a fascinating series of lectures entitled ‘Metathesis and Beyond’, with coverage of Alkene and Alkyne Metathesis, plus the final lecture of the day - Beyond Metathesis.

In his capacity as Tetrahedron Chair, Professor Fürstner also guest edited a Symposium-in-Print of Tetrahedron, entitled 'Catalytic Tools Enabling Total Synthesis', this Symposium-in-Print appeared as Volume 60 issue no. 43, pp 9529-9784.

about the chair


boss_rsFormerly known as the Elsevier Chair, the Tetrahedron Chair is held on the occasion of the Belgian Organic Synthesis Symposium and carries an award of EUR 7,000. The recipient delivers a one-day course on a specific topic in organic synthesis during which both his own research and the results of other scientists are reviewed. The Tetrahedron Chair winner is elected by a committee set up by the BOSS organizers, and including members of the Executive Board of Editors for Tetrahedron Publications.


Previous Awardees:

  1. M. Shibasaki (University of Tokyo, Japan) at BOSS-7, Louvain-la-NEUVE, 1998
  2. B.M. Trost (Stanford University, CA, USA) at BOSS-8, Gent, 2000
  3. H. Yamamoto (University of Chicago, MI, USA) at BOSS-9, Namur, 2002
  4. A. Fürstner (University of Dortmund and Director at the Max-Planck-Institut für Kohlenforschung) at Boss-10, Louvain-la-NEUVE, 2004