Advances in Computers

Quality Software Development

Edited by

  • Marvin Zelkowitz, Ph.D., MS, BS., University of Maryland, Department of Computer Science, College Park, USA

This volume of Advances in Computers is number 66 in the series that began back in 1960. This series presents the ever changing landscape in the continuing evolution of the development of the computer and the field of information processing. Each year three volumes are produced presenting approximately 20 chapters that describe the latest technology in the use of computers today. Volume 66, subtitled "Quality software development," is concerned about the current need to create quality software. It describes the current emphasis in techniques for creating such software and in methods to demonstrate that the software indeed meets the expectations of the designers and purchasers of that software.

Key features:

- In-depth surveys and tutorials on software development approaches.
- Well-known authors and researchers in the field.
- Extensive bibliographies with most chapters.
- All chapters focus on software development issues.
- Discussion of high end computing applications, a topic generally not understood by most software professionals.

View full description


Software practitioners and HEC professionals. Also suitable for university courses on above topics.


Book information

  • Published: April 2006
  • ISBN: 978-0-12-012166-3

Table of Contents


Chapter 1. Calculating software process improvement's return on investment (Rini van Solingen, David F. Rico)
Chapter 2. Quality Problem in Software Measurement Data (Pierre Rebours, Taghi M. Khoshgoftaar)
Chapter 3. Requirements Management for Dependable Software Systems (William G. Bail)
Chapter 4. Mechanics of Managing Software Risk (William G. Bail)
Chapter 5. The PERFECT Approach to Experience-based Process Evolution (Brian A. Nejmeh, William E. Riddle)
Chapter 6. The Opportunities Challenges and Risks of High Performance Computing in Computational Science and Engineering (Douglass E. Post, Richard P. Kendall, Robert F. Lucas).